Monday, September 29, 2014

Philippine Fashion Ball goes No Filter

And they did it again. For the fourth time this year, this annual ball defied boundaries and exceeded expectations in the Philippine fashion industry’s grandest night. As expected, everyone was dressed to the nines – the women were elegant, while the men looked really dapper in their suits.

Coined No Filter: the 4th Philippine Fashion Ball, the affair showcased works of eight young but very talented Filipino designers in a fashion show themed Design without Borders. I really loved how the pieces shown were both unconventional and chic at the same time.

Of course, part of the affair was the traditional citation for Filipino movers and shakers in the fashion industry. As always, I couldn’t help but be amazed at how honored the recipients were upon getting their special awards. It’s really touching how this annual ball honors deserving men and women who are very dedicated to their craft.

Among the many beautiful things I loved about this ball was the grass runway! It made everything look so naturally beautiful. That’s great thanks to the Fashion Ball’s major supporter, Hana Shampoo. Its campaign No Filter Beauty was very appropriate to all the naturally beautiful members of the country’s fashion industry.

And please forgive me, but much as I loooooove the whole event, Hana’s giveaway really made my night. I already have the shampoo and have been using the soft and silky variant for a while now. But for the event, they gave away Hana Shampoo in limited edition No Filter bottles that were made especially for the event! I hope no one got in trouble ‘cause I got more than one. They’re limited edition! How can I resist!

With my fashion idols: Raul Manzano, Chris Lopez & Anton Barretto

Industry Awardee for Style Origin Team Ayala: Alabang Town Center and TriNoma General Manager Mark Sablan, Ayala Center Makati General Manager AC Legarda, Ayala Land Inc. Commercial Business Group Senior Division Manager Joseph Reyes, Ayala Land Vice President Javier Hernandez & Ayala Land Inc. Commercial Business Group Senior Division Manager and Head of Marketing Maricris Bernardino

Industry Award for Style Origin received by model & beauty columnist Rissa Mananquil-Trillo (right) on behalf of The Philippine Star Lifestyle Editor Millet Mananquil, with heartthrob actor Enchong Dee

Industry Award for Faceoff received by Philippine Daily Inquirer columnist Tessa Prieto-Valdes on behalf of Philippine Daily Inquirer Lifestyle Editor Thelma San Juan

Industry Awardee for Metro Society’s Jose “Pitoy” Moreno: A Tribute Gala, Metro Society Editor-in-Chief Raul Manzano (etreme left) with hosts Divine Lee & Victor Basa and model/actress Solenn Heussaff

Creative Direction awardee Vince Uy of Preview Magazine

Creative Direction awardee Suki Salvador of MEGA Magazine (right) with MEGA Magazine Executive Editor Peewee Isidro & model Vanessa Matsunaga

Creative Direction awardee Rey Ilagan of Garage Magazine (right) with male models Brent Javier & Luke Jickain

Fashion Media awardee, Cosmopolitan Philippines Editorial Director Myrza Sison (right) with Cosmopolitan Philippines Fashion Director Donna Cuna-Pita

Fashion Design awardee Michael Cinco with “it girls” Georgina Wilson & Liz Uy

Fashion Design awardee Jojie Lloren with my dear friend Tessa Prieto-Valdes

Fashion Modeling awardee Ria Bolivar (right) with fashion director Robby Carmona

Fashion Modeling awardee Jasmine Maierhofer (right) with male model LA Aguinaldo

Photography awardee BJ Pascual (right) with Asia's Next Top Model Cycle Two 2nd runner-up Katarina Rodriguez

Hairystyling awardee, celebrity hairdresser John Valle

Make-up & Grooming awardee, everyone's favorite Peps Silvestre


Sassa Jimenez

Edwin Ao

OS Accessories


Yvonne Quisumbing

Renan Pacson

Sophie Sumner strutting down the green runway

Sophie Sumner for Renan Pacson

Jerome Lorico

Limited edition Hana Shampoo given away at Philippine Fashion Ball

Peerless Products Manufacturing Corporation VP for Sales and Marketing Jasper Tiu with Preview Magazine Editor-in-Chief Pauline Juan

Peerless Lion Corporation Marketing Director Pen Roque with TBWA/SMP Managing Director Portia Catuira & TBWA/SMP Business Unit Director Kara Filamor

International fashion designer Michael Cinco (middle) with Peerless Products Manufacturing Corporation Marketing Manager Caloy Bacani, Peerless Products Manufacturing Corporation Consumer Marketing Manager Norman Mier, Peerless Lion Corporation associate Brand Manager Lesley Yu & Peerless Lion Corporation Technical Manager Hideaki Yoshioka

NO FILTER beauty Sophie Sumner, winner of America’s Next Top Model Cycle 18

Myrza Sison in Rhett Eala

Peewee Isidro in Ramp Night

Tessa Prieto-Valdes in Cherry Veric

Liza Ilarde in Rhett Eala

Tweetie de Leon-Gonzalez in Randy Ortiz

Joey Mead-King in Martin Bautista

Ria Bolivar in Inno Sotto

Bianca Gonzalez in Rajo Laurel

Isabelle Daza in Vania Romoff

Georgina Wilson in Balenciaga

Liz Uy in Joey Samson

Solenn Heussaff in Boom Sason

Katarina Rodriguez in Kim Clark

Vanessa Matsunaga in Cherry Veric

Ariella Arida in Francis Libiran

Olivia Medina in Ryan Madamba

Laureen Uy in Vania Romoff

Janine Gutierrez in Vania Romoff

Phoemela Baranda in Rhett Eala

Bubbles Paraiso in Patty Ang

Angel Agustin-Co in Randy Ortiz

Melissa Frye-Fortes in Pablo Cabahug

Tola Orendain in Mike dela Rosa

Kelsey Merritt in Vania Romoff

Maxine Medina in Cheetah

Shermaine de Ramos in Renan Pacson

Ana Sideco in a dress from Rustan’s

Paulette Quinto in Pablo Cabahug

Francis Libiran

JC Buendia

Jojie Lloren

Michael Cinco

Rajo Laurel

Rhett Eala & Jackie Aquino

Anton San Diego in Hugo Boss

Rey Ilagan in Lanvin

Suki Salvador in Francis Libiran

Vince Uy in Givenchy suit

Robby Carmona

Miko Raval in Randy Ortiz

Raphael Robes in Calvin Klein

LA Aguinaldo in Francis Libiran

Randy See in Zara

Sky Yang in Zara

Sydney Du in Hugo Boss

Jerome Tan in Zara

Miguel Lasala in Cary Santiago

Erie Obsena in Edwin Tan

Marniel Lim in Ulysses King

Richard Juan in Edwin Tan

Elmo Magalona in Nat Manilag

Jed Madela in Pepsi Herrera

Luke Jickain in Randy Ortiz

Gil Cuerva in Edwin Tan

Martin Reyes in Nat Manilag

Devon Spence in Zara
Anton Barretto, me & art gallery owner Albert Avellana

Hideo & Fatima with their Hana giveaways

More Hana goodies